Baby Birds

When I was a little girl my mother would snuggle with my sister and I and we would pretend we were baby birds and she the mama bird would pretend to feed us worms.  I still feel warm and cozy as I think of the game we would play.  Years later when I was in high school I noticed she had a ornament sized mama bird on a perch with her two little baby on a shelf near our kitchen sink.  While I never asked her, I knew that ornament reminded her of us and the game we use to play.

My mother died while I was in college and long before I had my own baby birds.  Over the years they have heard  my stories of my mama and her baby birds as we would snuggle together.   And the ornament is on display shelf reminding me of them and of my mother.

As my last birdie prepares to head 1200 miles east to college, I again think of my Mother and how lonely she felt her baby birds headed 1200 miles west.  She never made it to the next chapter.  I pray that I can find mine.

Leave a Reply

